2019 Premier’s Science Awards open with new award category

by WA Government News | Mar 05, 2019
  • Applications now open for the 2019 Premier's Science Awards and WA Science Hall of Fame
  • New Shell Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year Award introduced
  • McGowan Government is raising the profile of STEM by celebrating local STEM superstars 

Applications are now open for the 2019 Premier's Science Awards which celebrate the achievements of Western Australia's leaders in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

An exciting new category has been introduced this year - the Shell Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year Award. The award recognises high-achieving Aboriginal undergraduate and postgraduate students studying or researching science, technology, engineering, mathematics, medicine or health at university.

The other award categories are Scientist of the Year, Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year, ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year and Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year.

Winners will be announced at a ceremony during National Science Week in August, with the Scientist of the Year taking away $50,000 and other category winners each receiving $10,000.

Past winners' achievements include crop improvement in WA; improved survival of people with breast cancer; and the development of 'living classrooms', delivering a practical solution to evidence that children are spending less time outdoors.

Researchers, science communicators and students have until April 23, 2019 to apply.

Nominations are also open to induct a prominent Western Australian scientist into the WA Science Hall of Fame. The inductee will also be announced at the awards ceremony.

Chevron, ExxonMobil and Woodside have sponsored the awards since 2013, and Shell joins as a new sponsor in 2019. The awards are also supported by the State's five universities - Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, Murdoch University, The University of Notre Dame, and The University of Western Australia.

For more information, visit http://www.jtsi.wa.gov.au/scienceawards 

Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:

"The Premier's Science Awards are an opportunity to recognise the outstanding achievements of Western Australia's leading scientists, and to celebrate the positive contributions they make to our daily lives and the State.

"Initiatives celebrating STEM contribute to a culture that encourages increased STEM participation, a priority for the Western Australian Government, helping us to achieve a bright future for our students and the State.

"I would like to acknowledge the award sponsors and supporters for their ongoing contributions to the program, and welcome Shell as sponsor of the inaugural award recognising exceptional Aboriginal STEM students."

Comments attributed to Science Minister Dave Kelly:

"The Premier's Science Awards are an integral part of the McGowan Government's strategy to raise the profile of STEM in WA.

"These awards are a fantastic initiative that promotes the importance of STEM skills for jobs of the future.

"I encourage STEM researchers, communicators and students to consider applying for the 2019 awards."

Premier's office - 6552 5000

Science Minister's office - 6552 6100

Also in this section