Serena Williams joins Roger Federer in world-class Mastercard Hopman Cup line-up

by WA Government News | Oct 03, 2018
  • Serena Williams confirmed for 2019 Mastercard Hopman Cup
  • State Government, through Tourism WA, a founding sponsor
  • Event to run from December 29, 2018 to January 5, 2019 

Tennis royalty Serena Williams will face current world No.2 Roger Federer in the 2019 Mastercard Hopman Cup mixed teams tournament, as part of one of the strongest line-ups in the event's 31-year history.

The 23-time Grand Slam winner will represent the United States of America and will pair with rising star Frances Tiafoe.

Current world No.2 Roger Federer, who holds 20 Grand Slam titles, will again partner with Belinda Bencic to defend Team Switzerland's 2018 title.

2018 runners-up, comprising of talented current world No.3 Angelique Kerber and world No.5 Alexander Zverev for Team Germany will return as part of the elite field.

Australia's highest ranked tennis player, Ashleigh Barty will also take to the court with teammate and world No.48 Matthew Ebden. 

Barty is currently ranked world No.19 in singles and world No.7 in doubles.

The Mastercard Hopman Cup will be held at RAC Arena from December 29, 2018 to January 5, 2019.

Selected single session tickets and ticket packages are available to purchase from Ticketek.

Night session tickets will go on sale to the general public from 9am on Friday, October 5.

New in 2019, children will be able to attend all day sessions for free. Tickets can be collected on the given event day at the RAC Arena box office.

For further details, including ticketing information, visit 

The State Government, through Tourism Western Australia, has been a proud founding sponsor of the Hopman Cup since its inception in 1989.

The full player line-up for 2019 is as follows:

Australia - Matthew Ebden and Ashleigh Barty

United States of America - Frances Tiafoe and Serena Williams

Switzerland - Roger Federer and Belinda Bencic

Germany - Alexander Zverev and Angelique Kerber

Spain - David Ferrer and Garbine Muguruza

France - Lucas Pouille and Alize Cornet

Greece - Stefanos Tsitsipas and Maria Sakkari

United Kingdom - Cameron Norrie and Katie Boulter

Read the full media statement here

Also in this section