Innovation awards honour WA's best and brightest

by WA Government News | Nov 02, 2017
  • Curtin University takes top honour at 2017 WA Innovator of the Year awards
  • $145,000 in prizes awarded to innovative local companies
  • Awards program also help finalists with mentoring and business development

An innovative method for prolonging the freshness of fruit and vegetables, developed by Curtin University, has taken out top prize at last night's WA Innovator of the Year awards.
The awards, which are in their eleventh year, acknowledge and reward exceptional Western Australians which have developed an outstanding innovative product, technology or service.
The innovation must be at the emerging or growth phase of development and demonstrate an economic, social or environmental benefit for the State.
Semi-finalists and finalists in the awards program receive mentoring, presentation training, and advice on business development and finance to help commercialise their innovations.
Curtin University won the overall Mitsubishi Corporation WA Innovator of the Year award for its ethylene blocking compounds that extend the storage, transport and shelf life of horticultural products.
Other winners at last night's event were:

  • Mitsubishi Corporation Emerging Innovation Category: Safescape
  • Mitsubishi Corporation Growth Category: Rocks Gone Pty Ltd
  • Woodside Oil and Gas Encouragement Award: Picosat Systems Pty Ltd
  • South32 Designing for Excellence Encouragement Award: Onesun Pty Ltd
  • Young Innovator of the Year: TOLKA from Como Secondary College

Winners from this year's award category share in $145,000 prize money.  For more information, visit

Comments attributed to Innovation and ICT Minister Dave Kelly:
"The WA Innovator of the Year program recognises companies and ideas that are reshaping our economy and creating new jobs for Western Australians.
"The McGowan Government is committed to supporting the innovation sector through initiatives such as this, which has a great track record supporting companies from idea to commercialisation.
"I'd like to thank everyone involved in the program in this year, patron Professor Fiona Wood and major sponsors Mitsubishi, Woodside and South32."

Also in this section